Department of Commerce
The Adoni town is well known for its Trade & Commerce activities. Since Adoni is a Commercial Centre, there has been a good demand for the commerce course. The Department of Commerce was started in the academic year 1964-65. Sri. T. Prahaladachary was the first Head of the Department.

M.Rama Murthy worked as a lecturer in Commerce in the College. He contributed many articles of national importance to national journals. He received an award from the President of India for his contribution to journalism.

K.Deepak, lecturer in commerce was later on elevated to the post of the Principal of the college. He is a profilic writer on different topics of commerce and trade. He received an award from the President of India for his article, which is published in the NIFF.

The following retired members of the department of commerce were Board of Studies Chairmen of Sri Krishna Devaraya University, Anantapur.
1. Sri.P.V.Raju

2. Sri.T.Nagabhushana
As Board of Studies Chairmen they played a vital role in the revision and re-structuring of the Commerce syllabus (updating the curriculum) question paper pattern and evaluation procedure.

Since its inception, the Department of Commerce is striving hard for the improvement of academic standards. The Department of Commerce is the largest department in the college and has eminent faculty, imparting quality education. The number of distinctions bagged at the university level bears eloquent testimony to the performance of the teaching staff.
Listof the faculty members from 1962 is as follows

# Name of the Staff member Qualificaton D.O.J Date of Retirement / leaving the college Remarks
1. Sri.T.Prahaladachary B.Com (Hons.) 1964 1994 -
2. Sri.Balasubbaiah M.Com. 1966 1970 -
3. Sri.Satyanarayana Murthy M.Com. 1966 1970 Left to Join S.V.U
4. Sri.V.Warghees M.Com. 1966 1968 Left to join Kerala University
5. Sri.M.Ramamurthy M.ComL.L.B. 1969 1993 -
6. Sri.T.G.Dathu M.Com 1967 1999 -
7. Sri S.Sreenivasa Naidu M.Com,M.Phil. L.L.B. 1973 2002 -
8. Sri.P.V.Raju M.Com 1968 2004 Retired as Principal
9. Sri.T.Nagabhushana M.Com 1970 2006 Retired as Principal In charge
10. Sri.K.Deepak M.Com 1972 2006 Retired as Principal In charge
11. S. Hussain Peera M.Com 1996 2008 -

List of Successive Principals from the Department of Commerce

# Name of the Staff Date of Joining Assumption of Principalship Date of Retirement
1. Sri.P.V.Raju 12-10-68 01-06-2001 31-07-2004
2. Sri.T.Nagabhushana 18-11-1970 01-08-2004 30-6-2006
3. Sri.K.Deepak 24-08-1972 01-07-2006 31-7-2006
4. Sri V. Venkata Reddy 01-11-1974 01-08-2006 29–11–2006

Staff Particulars

# Name Qualifications Designation Year of Joining
1. G. Chandra Sekhar M.Com,M.Phil.,B.L Lecturer in charge. 1995
2. K. Prakash Rao M.Com, M.Phil Lecturer 1998
3. H.M Vishwanathaiah M.Com Lecturer on CP -
4. Sri P Dhanunjaya M.Com Lecturer on CP -
5. Sri P Suresh M.Com, M.Phil,(MBA) Lecturer on CP -
6. Sri Devendra Babu M.Com Lecturer on CP -
7. Sri M Vinod Kumar M.Com Lecturer on CP -
8. Sri J Vinod Kumar Reddy M.B.A Lecturer on CP -
9. Sri . S S Naidu M.Com Guest Faculty -
10. Sri S Ashok M.Com Lecturer on CP -
11. Sri P Malleswaraiah M.Com Lecturer on CP -
12. U.Tirupataiah M.Com Lecturer on CP -
13. Sri Mahaboob Basha M.Com. Lecturer on CP -
14. Smt K. Lakshmi Devi M.Com Lecturer on CP -
15. P Aman M.Com Lecturer on CP -
16. Kum K Suvarna M.Com Lecturer on CP -
17. Sri K Srinivasa Reddy M.Com Lecturer on CP -
Activities of the Department
The Department of Commerce has an excellent perception of the future market structure. It has conducted a sample survey on “ The Impact of advertisement on rural population in Adoni mandal”.
The Department is training the students in banking sector, especially in the field of on line Banking system. All the second year B.Com Students are divided into batches and they have been given on the spot training in Corporation Bank, Sadapuram Branch, which is on the college premises.
Every year the Department of Commerce sponsors career guidance and counseling programmes on professional courses (CA, ICWAI, ACS, MBA, MCA, MFA, PM & IR) and other diploma courses like Diploma in Export & Import Management and Diploma in Sales & Advertising Management) which are useful for the final year students who aspire to join the professional courses.